Thursday, December 17, 2009

ASU named WESVARRDEC’s first outstanding PMA

By Salvacion Villasis
Regional Applied Communications
Aklan State University

For its “exemplary monitoring of the performance of all FITS Centers under its supervision in compliance with their annual reports and work and financial plan,” the Aklan State University (ASU) was conferred the first Outstanding Partner Member Agency (PMA) award by the Western Visayas Agriculture and Resources Research and Development Consortium (WESVARRDEC) during its Yearend Strategic Meeting held December 9, 2009 at the Sunset Terrace Hall in Hotel del Rio in Iloilo City.

The winning ASU team—led by President Benny A. Palma (sixth from left), the first PMA recognized by the consortium—receives the award from WESVARRDEC led by RRDCC Chair Minda J. Formacion (fifth from left), chancellor of UP Visayas. The WESVARRDEC team was led by (from left to right) RTG Coordinator Ana Mae Relingo, RMISG Coordinator Nilo Araneta, RACG Coordinator Cora Navarra and Consortium Director Joseph Edward O Idemne.

Recognized for its effective implementation of the Techno Gabay Program for the past years, the university headed by its president, Dr. Benny A. Palma, received a special trophy made from corn husks by one of the farmer cooperators in Farmers Information and Technological Services (FITS) Center Moises Padilla, Negros Occidental; a certificate of recognition; and P10,000 prize.

The said award was achieved by the university through the untiring effort of the ASU Techno Gabay Team led by Dr. Clyde G. Abayon with Dr. Elsa I. Abayon, Regional Technical Working Group (RTWG) representatives, Dr. Lelisa J. Teodosio, RMIS representative and Ms. Sally R. Villasis, RACO representative.

An active partner member agency in most of consortium’s activities, ASU assists programs and members of the FITS centers in Banga, Ibajay, Nabas, Altavas, all municipalities of Aklan; and FITS Center Libertad, its sole member in the province of Antique.

The search for Outstanding PMA in the Region aims to honor and recognize the contribution of the prime movers of the attainment of the WESVARRDEC’s programs.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...